top of page
Search

Uncovering the Food of Bibik’s Kitchen Johor Bahru



As I continue to personally uncover food places in Johor Bahru and other states in Peninsular Malaysia inline with my #Jomtaraletssupportlocal, let me share to you my food experience at Bibik’s Kitchen Johor Bahru. This cafe is located within the city center of Johor Bahru.


Bibiks kitchen is said to be offering Peranakan food which I found more interesting to uncover.


Peranakan cuisine or commonly known as Nyonya cuisine comes from the Peranakans. They are said to be the descendants of the early Chinese migrants who settled in Penang, Melaka, Singapore and Indonesia married to the local Malays in the country. Hence this food (Nyonya cuisine) is a combined influence from Chinese, Malay and, Javanese cuisines.


Jom with me as we try out the casual Asian Peranakan food of Bibik's Kitchen under JO Hotel Johor Bahru.


THE FOOD


Since CMCO is still strictly imposed in Johor Bahru and other cities and states in Malaysia amid to the possible spread of Covid19 virus in the community, we didn’t dine it to this café, instead, we requested to let the food be delivered to our place.


We ordered Ayam Pongteh and Ikan Pari Asam Pedas Set. These dishes were quite interesting and it’s good to try a different type of food.


Being a newbie on Peranakan food, I tried to understand more about these dishes before ordering from them.


I came to know that the Ayam Pongteh is actually a Nyonya dish (which was said to be originated in Melaka- correct me if I am wrong). This kind of this dish is also sometimes called as Nyonya Chicken and Potato Stew.



Trying such kind of food is quite new to me and I found that the fermented soya bean sauce was quite strong into the chicken meat that give distinct taste into my palate. I tried to search online the recipes of this dish I found out that the ingredients used was the same as the way I tasted it. The texture of the chicken meat mixing it with their white rice was great in my palate. Wah I love it.


What I like about this set was their added fried egg with added mix vegetables. I like mixing it with their meat sauce. I would say it was powerful lunch of the day.

Meanwhile. for the their Ikan Pari Asam Pedas Set, this came to my understanding from few friends that it is actually a classic Malay and Minangkabau dish that is popular in Melaka too.


Asam Pedas is literally translated to 'sour spicy'. It is believed that this fish curry is tasty, spicy and best served with white plain rice.



Trying such meal was quite too much for me. I would say it was really too much in terms of the spicy level. But if you are the type that like spicy one, this one should be a recommended one for you.


The serving of the ikan pari was justified according to its price. The set was also included with fried egg and mixed vegetables. I think it was a really nice dish for the family.


Overall, the food experience was remarkable. Both dishes are highly recommended. Being said that, I would say that my food experience from this restaurant was really high. It’s 9 out of 10 for me. They deserve a clap for it.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


DISCLAIMER:


Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given was based on the honest feedback. The featured restaurant may have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:


❓Parking area: Free for hotel guests

❓Business Hours:

Breakfast : 7.00a.m – 10.30a.m

Monday – Thursday : 7.00a.m – 9.00p.m (last order @ 8.30pm)

Friday – Sunday : 7.00a.m – 6.00p.m (last order @ 5.30pm)

❓They do delivery: yes

❓Expected Budget: depends on the order



TO STOP THE SPREAD OF COVID19, PLEASE BE GUIDED WITH THESE FRIENDLY REMINDERS:


👉Maintain social distancing

👉 Avoid crowded places

👉Use face mask in public

👉Wash your hand frequently


58 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page