top of page
Search

Revisiting the Food of Sedap Corner



I remember when I first entered Malaysia via the Kuala Lumpur International Airport and straight went to Johor Bahru, one of the few restaurants / cafes that we had visited that year (2016) was Sedap Corner. I was amazed on how they displayed their food when we went to their main outlet in No 11, Jalan Abdul Samad, Kampung Bahru, in Johor Bahru--- that time their place was not yet that renovated.

Few years down the road, here I come again trying their food via “tapau” due to the ongoing Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO). We took their food from an online platform that caters online selling with delivery service solution.

Sedap Corner accordingly has been established since 1987 and now it is one of the leading local cafes’ in Johor Bahru that serves local delights including authentic Malaysian cuisines.

Jom with me as we revisit this café and experience there food.

THE FOOD:

We ordered there Oriental Ginger Beef with Rice, Oriental Fried Mee, Nasi Briyani with Ayam Merah, French Fries, Popiah, Iced Lemon Tea, and Iced Bandung.


Their Oriental Ginger Beef with Rice was still the same as the time I ordered their food (wayback 2016). The ‘gingeree’ flavour of their soft and tender beef was so nice in my palate. I love every bite of this dish together with their white soft rice and mixed vegie like their carrots and potatoes. The gravy was tasty with a bit of spicy taste that gave additional taste every time I scoop up this meal.

The salt level of this dish was (I think) well controlled and I think it didn’t hurt my tastebuds. I just personally loved the way the food was prepared. The aftertaste of the ginger was there. The soft texture of the carrots and potatoes blends well on their soft and tender sliced beef. It was an amazing experience for me.

The Oriental Fried Mee was also something considered good specially if you love noodles like my kids. They loved it very much. Their noodles were springy and its not over cooked so we cut it into small pieces for them not be choked. Overall, the texture of the noodles with its taste was well done. The MSG content (for me) I guess should be okay but I hope it can be lessened a bit. The noodles are actually not that salty but the usage of soya sauce (If I’m am not wrong) should had been controlled.


Their Nasi Briyani with Ayam Merah was I think recommendable to a friend. The rice was well cooked. The chicken with its spicy curry sauce was really interesting in my pallets. I would say, it may be too spicy for me but I think the spicy level made it more interesting. The combination of the chicken and the curry to their own version of Nasi Briyani was fantastic.

The pickled vegetables gave additional texture to the set. The vinegar content of that set was I think not too much. It blended well on the soft curry chicken of the set.

Their popiah as a side dish was a bit soft when we opened it. I think, this was because of the moisture inside their packaging. But if this will be served right on the spot, it would be more interesting specially when dipped to their sweet and sour sauce.

As a finisher, the drinks we ordered was a good way to end our meal. I enjoyed every bite. The spicy level of there chicken (ayam merah) was solved in just a few sip of their refreshing iced lemon tea.

I would not give comments on their French Fries as those were eaten by my kids- they don’t want me to try. They love it so I think it should be good too.

They also have other local delights like ‘kuihs’ which I think you would also love it. Overall, I was not disappointed with my food experience to this café. In terms of the entire food experience, I would rate as 9 out of 10.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

DISCLAIMER:


Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given was based on honest feedback. The featured cafe' may also have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:


❓Parking area: Free

❓Business Hours: 10:00 AM to 10:30 PM

❓They do delivery: yes

❓Expected Budget: depends on the order


TO STOP THE SPREAD OF COVID19, PLEASE BE GUIDED WITH THESE FRIENDLY REMINDERS:


👉Maintain social distancing

👉 Avoid crowded places

👉Use face mask in public

👉Wash your hand frequently


64 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page