top of page
Search

My Own Version of Calamansi Juice and Waffle Set With Manuka Honey


In line with my #Jomtaraletssupportlocal campaign for year 2021, allow me to share to you my own Filipino version of Calamansi Juice (lime juice) with Manuka Honey together with our own home-made waffle that is good for either breakfast or teatime for the family.

Way back in the Philippines, whenever my parent manages to collect honey juice from the forest of Kapangan or Tublay (Betwag)- part of Cordillera Administrative Region, they usually mix that honey with “Calamansi” juice and partner it with a slice of loaf bread and spread a honey on it and bingo, that is already used for our tea time or breakfast specially during the cold season.

The cold season in my hometown is usually somewhere in the month of December to February of the year where it can even reach up to 5 - 13 degree celsius. With this temperature, the favorite servings when a guest visit my parent’s place was a cup of hot baraku (native black coffee) or a cup of calamansi juice (if available) with either sugar or honey.

Usually, the temperature in my hometown is within the range of 16- 26 degree celsius throughout the year except for the month of December to February. I would say. it’s really quite cold.


What are the benefits of this Calamansi Juice?

It may be a simple juice but I guess, there are benefits that we can get from this simple juice. Accordingly, regular intake of this juice helps to purify our internal organs and detoxifies our colon. It improves bowel movement and relieves constipation.


Other than that, Calamansi juice also helps in strengthening our immune system specially nowadays where we really need to make our immune system strong to protect us from being infected with this #Covid19 pandemic.


How does my parents prepare this Calamansi juice?

The ingredients are simple. A cup of hot or warm water, 5-7 pcs of Calamansi fruits, and a 2-3 spoonful of wild honey. My parents mix it until the honey is dissolved and mixed well with the hot or warm water. It’s very simple.


With Manuka Honey from Comvita, I am also happy that I had the chance to replicate my parent’s version of this juice to my kids here in Malaysia. I love the thickness of the honey. The smell and the golden colour and thick texture of this honey brings me back home whenever we smell those newly collected wild honey from the forest (during those time).


With 2 cups of warm water, I prepared 9 pcs of fresh Calamansi fruits, and 3 spoonful of Manuka Honey (for each cup). Since my kids love sweet, I don't need to add honey since this Manuka Honey is really concentrated. It is very rich. They loved it. Looking at them holding those cups of Calamansi juice with honey reminds me of my childhood days in the province sharing happiness with my siblings as we drink the same Calamansi tea during morning or afternoon tea time.


Since it is a still early for dinner, my wife prepared her own version of waffle. The ingredients are just simple. You can go online for any recipe. You just need to have a waffle maker so it will make your job easier.


I give my kids those waffle with a spread of Manuka Honey. And boom—they love it. It was really nice to share this experiences. Just a simple way of preparing food and replicating what your parents have been doing before is just nice.


My kids may somewhat puzzle of my reaction (at that point of time). I just smiled (out of the blue) without anything. They looked at each other and look at me and showing a reaction of what is happening? (hahaha). I just let it go and give to them my own version of Calamansi Juice with Manuka Honey.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


DISCLAIMER:


This is not a paid advertisement. This is my personal blog sharing my experience with Manuka Honey from #Comvita. The shared article is just based on personal experiences. Replication of the juice shall subject to you if you are okay to use “Calamansi” or honey.


56 views4 comments
bottom of page