top of page
Search

How To Renew My Driving License As A Foreigner In Malaysia

Updated: Nov 10, 2021


As more and more States in Malaysia goes to phase four amid this ongoing Pandemic, life must still continue to go on. This time around, I will be sharing with you my experience when I renewed my Malaysia driving license after acquiring my new passport from our Philippine Embassy in Kuala Lumpur.


I went to Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ) Taman Daya in Johor Bahru to renew my driving license. Before I went there, I called their office number (o7-360-6060) to get more details to prepare myself for the new SOPs in renewing my driving license.


1. What are the requirements needed?

  • Passport (detail page and visa page must be photocopied for 2 pcs)

  • 1 pc of 25 mm x 32 MM white background photo

  • Original Malaysia Driving License

2. Do I need to fill up something?

  • The officer asked me to fill up the JPJL7.

  • I filled up B 1, C 1, 2, and E in that form

  • All forms are in Bahasa Malaysia so if you need assistance, you can just refer to their officer of the day.

3. How was the payment?

  • Payment is all cashless. I took five years and I paid RM 300.00. The fee per year is RM60. For MyPR holders, I am not sure about how much is the fee.

4. What if I have a new passport number that is different from the current Passport number in my existing driving license?

  • You need to bring along with you your old passport that has the same passport number indicated in your existing driving license

  • You need to photocopy the details page and your visa to be part of your attachment for this transaction.

5. How many years will they give for your renewal?

  • It depends on your visa. But you can request if can be based on your passport expiry year. You can request for 5 years.

6. Do I need to get an appointment to get a slot for this transaction?

  • No need. You just need to be prepared for the long queue. Please be advised that there is an officer that controls the crowd entering the building as part of their SOPs.

  • Do not join the queue if you saw that it is long especially if it’s past 3:00 pm. Otherwise, they may ask you to come back the following working day.

7. Can I renew my driving license in UTC?

  • Yes.

8. How long will be the transition?

  • The queuing time will take hours depending on how long the queue is. But once you submitted your documents, it will take about 10-20 minutes to finish after you paid your transaction.


9. What if I don’t have a photo with white background?

  • If you forgot, the officer will ask you if you are okay to use the same photo of your existing driving license. However, the officer will remind you to bring a new one on your next renewal application. Thus, this may affect how many years you will be given. Instead of a longer period, they may give you a one-year renewal only. It is highly advisable to have your photo with white background before you proceed with your transaction.

10. What other details do I need to know?

  • Before you enter the building, you must be fully vaccinated or with 2 doses. The officer will check your MySejathera before they allow you to enter the premises.


I hope these details are helpful enough to guide you when you plan to renew your Malaysia Driving license. For any online transaction, you can just visit their website for more information.


Please be advised that the details above are based on my personal experience and the procedures may be different from time to time. It is highly advisable to check with your nearest JPJ office on the new SOPs and requirements before heading to renew your driving license.


bottom of page