top of page
Search

Food Review: Ah Meng Kue Teow#亞明粿條



In a hot afternoon, I had the chance to experience Ah Meng Kuew Teow soup along with some food that we took from a nearby “chap fan” food stall as our lunch. Ah Meng has been known for their Teochew Kuay Teow soup in Johor Bahru. This shop has been existed since 1984. Let’s find out how was it.

THE FOOD:


I would not be giving comments along with the food we bought from a nearby food stall serving “chap fan”. Chap fan means (in Cantonese) is mixed rice. Here, the customer will select their own food among all the available dishes displayed by the food provider. The food are all mixed up. Payment for the food will be dependent on the amount you took.



Going back to Ah Meng Kue Teow soup, I would say that the Kue Teow noodle is not overcooked. It is not oily too. The smooth texture of the noodle in my mouth is present in every bite I took. The noodle of course is tasteless which is suitable to the wonderful taste of their pork broth.

The soup consists of pig spare parts, thin sliced pork, minced onions, garlic, ginger and other condiment that gives fabulous taste on it. If I’m not mistaken, they also used pork bones to be part in the soup while it still being simmered to give a fantastic taste of pork broth.

The pork was cooked with some sweetish taste which give additional sweetness in the pork broth. I would say the soup overall is not salty. It compliments well with the tasteless noodle.


Mixing with some spicy flavour makes the entire soup appetizing as it gives interesting tastes in my palate. I am not keen to too much chilies, hence, I controlled the amount that I use so it will not overpower the taste of the entire dish in my palate.

With this experience, I would rate this dish as 9.5 out of 10. Its really good.


FOOD LOCATION:


112, Jalan Meranti, Taman Melodies, 80250 Johor Bahru, Johor

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


DISCLAIMER:


Reviewed food were based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given is based on the honest feedback. The featured shop may also have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:


❓Parking area: Need to pay until 6PM ❓Business Hours: 7AM to 3 PM ❓Is the food kids friendly: Yes ❓Expected Budget: RM20-30 for 3 people

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

FRIENDLY REMINDERS:

👉Maintain social distancing 👉 Avoid crowded places 👉Use face mask in public 👉Wash your hand frequently


155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page