top of page
Search

Food Discoveries at Eugene Grocery


Chinese New Year is just around the corner and today, let me share to you my food discoveries on the value set lunch offered by Eugene Grocery.


Eugene Grocery is nestled at No. 14, Jalan Perang, Taman Pelangi, 80400 Johor Bahru, Johor Malaysia. They offer quite a good variety of food items such as braised lamb shanks, fresh seasonal vegetables and other grocery items that are essential for the family.


They are currently valuable set lunch prepared until 26th of February 2021 inline to their CNY value lunch from 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM.


Jom with me as I share to you my experiences to their value set in line with my #Jomtaraletssupportlocal campaign.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

THE FOOD

We ordered their baked chicken rice with free ice lemon tea, Hainanese chicken chop with fries and coleslaw with free hot tea, and EG curry chicken with steamed rice & cucumber pickled and papadum.


Over all, I think the food was not bad. It was good for the family. I love their EG curry chicken with steamed rice. The curry chicken was not that too spicy and it was just enough for the whole set. The oil level was also controlled making it more appetizing in the eye. The spicy and salt level did not overpower the entire dish.


It was a recommended set for curry lovers out there. This also comes with fresh cucumber picked and crunchy papadum.

Their Hainanese chicken chop was also outstanding. It was crunchy outside and it is not full of flour. My kids love munching it. In terms of taste, you will be enlightened with how it was prepared. The chicken was soft, well cooked and not oily.


However, this could have been better if the amount of French fries could be have been more generous to supplement its price. But for taste wise, I think it was good. My kids loved it.

For their Baked chicken rice, I would say it could be improved further. I expect that the cheese would be more and the Chicken meat as a protein for the set could also be complementing the amount carbohydrates (the rice) to make it as a powerful lunch set meal. In terms of taste, it was tasty, but I would say that I was looking forward to something that is cheesier and meatier based on its pricing.


What I like about this set was their added amount of sweet peas and a bit of carrots. I was nice.


With their added freebies like drinks and papadum on their set, I think, it was packaged well. It was delivered in our house without spilling any of it. I would also give a salute for the personal touch on how they deal with the customers. They were so friendly (It think the boss) and even asked us to give feedback. They are very humble. Such a nice person to deal with.

Overall, the food experience and their customer service were remarkable. This experience gives me a reason to rate them for 8.5 out of 10. They deserve a clap and I do hope that the community can also try their CNY set to support our local businesses.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


DISCLAIMER:

Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given was based on the honest feedback. The featured restaurant may have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:

❓No Pork No Lard ❓All of their CNY Set lunch are exclusive of 10% service charge ❓They are close every Tuesday ❓They offer food delivery



TO STOP THE SPREAD OF COVID19, PLEASE BE GUIDED WITH THESE FRIENDLY REMINDERS:

👉Maintain social distancing

👉 Avoid crowded places

👉Use face mask in public

👉Wash your hand frequently

22 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page