top of page
Search

Food Adventure: 华美 Restoran Hua Mui


As we continue to explore food places around Johor Bahru (JB) in line with our ongoing #Jomtaraletssupportlocal stories, allow me to share with you our food adventure at Hua Mui Restoran that is located right in the heart of Johor Bahru in Johor, Malaysia.


Being a non-local, it is good to explore the different cafés (restaurants) in Johor Bahru that offer special delicacies despite this ongoing pandemic. Hua Mui Restoran ("Restoran" is a Bahasa term for ‘Restaurant’) is in service since 1964 and they are said to be one of the oldest restaurants in Johor Bahru which has existed for almost 50 years.


I first heard of this restaurant in 2016. There were quite good reviews I read about them especially on their signature fried chicken chop. Join me as I share with you my food adventure with them.


THE FOOD


We ordered there Hua Mui Fried Rice, Hua Mui Breakfast, Hua Mui Combo Rice, and their Butter and Kaya Toast. We ordered this from one of the platforms that offer delivery here in JB.


Overall, the food experience was actually good. We also ordered their signature Chicken chop before and I can say that the food was really interesting. It comes with a set of Fried Chicken, potatoes wedges, and their signature sauce with green peas.


The fried rice we ordered was really amazing. It was not salty and oily. The portion was actually good for my two kids. I cannot say that it’s one of the best fried rice I tried but I can say that the food is nice.


Their Hua Mui Breakfast set comes with a fried egg, fried tomatoes, fried bun, and fried sausages. I find the set a bit oily. I think this is because all the set was deep-fried. The fried bun (if I’m not mistaken) was also good for the set. I think if this will be served at their place, I think should be okay. But when taking it for ‘tapau’ (takeout), I think it’s not recommended as it was sent to us a bit oily unless the set can be reviewed again.


Their Butter and Kaya toast butter was a highly recommended set. It was nice in my palette and I love every bite of it. There is a crispy texture outside and a soft and delicious taste inside. It was remarkable.


The Hua Mui Combo Rice for me was fantastic. It comes with salted egg, sliced chicken, together with prawns and I love dipping it into their signature green peas sauce. The fried rice was also tasty and my tastebuds are really enjoying it.


Being a non-local trying this restaurant, I can say that it is a recommended café to try out if you are aiming to visit Johor Bahru especially when traveling is free for everyone (off course, looking forward to that moment to come). The shop is just nearby the customs at CIQ First Link and also near to the JB Sentral bus terminal.


Perhaps you can also try it as we continue to support local businesses during this difficult time.


DISCLAIMER:


Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given were based on honest feedback. The featured cafe may have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page