top of page
Search

Extension of Spouse Visa in Johor Bahru During RMCO In Malaysia



Folks, here I am again, sharing my experiences on the latest application of my Spouse Visa (Multiple Visa Entry) Extension in Malaysia as well as my Work Endorsement as a Foreigner working in this country.

BOOKING MY ONLINE APPOINTMENT


With the impact of Covid19 Pandemic in the country, our lifestyle has changed tremendously. One of it is the new normal for any transaction at the Immigration offices across Malaysia. We have to abide the rules and support the ongoing Government SOPs in the country in order to minimize any possible spread of the virus.

August 2020 was the expiration date of my visa and since the announcement of the Movement Control Order (MCO) in March 18 2020, we have been hearing stories/ feedback that the Immigration had implemented an online appointment which is the only way to get access to any Immigration offices in Malaysia. Hence this is true.

So I started booking my appointment online almost every day, and I would say it’s very hard to secure one. I tried a couple of hundred times but still failed to secure one. I even call the Immigration office about this and they still insist me to secure appointment online. Don’t need to be selective of the date, just click whatever option you have even of the date is marked red in their website. At around 12 in the afternoon of the first week of July 2020, I managed to secure a date and time for my appointment. The feeling was that as if I won a lottery that moment.


I printed my appointment and prepared all necessary documents needed for my visa and work endorsement.


To be honest, it’s very hard to get appointment--- patient is the virtue here. Just be patient.

VISITING THE COMMISSIONER ON OATH



It is always a practice that before heading to the Immigration office, all your documents must be certified by the Commissioner On Oath. So, we did that in Setia Tropika nearby the Immigration office.


Like any other establishments, they also follow the SOP ---- like social distancing, contact tracing, temperature checking etc.


You need to queue to get your documents be check by the Commissioner. We paid RM4.00 per document. So in total, I paid RM8 for both the Extension Of My Visa and my Work Endorsement applications forms.

DOCUMENTS PREPARED FOR MY EXTENSION OF VISA AND WORK ENDORSEMENT



So far, there were no changes in the requirements. It is still the same forms. For readers who first visited my blog, you can refer here for the requirement for the Extension of Visa, while you can also refer here for the requirements needed for the Work Endorsement.

However, if you have overstayed in the country due to MCO / RMCO and because you are having hard time to get your online appointment, no need to worry cause the officer just said that with RMCO, you will not be penalized (until 31st December 2020-- and further notice). You will be asked to fill up a form (the overstay form) and need your signature on it—Honestly, the officers on duty were also quite helpful that time.

You need to present your online appointment on that day. If you don’t have that, you will not be entertained.

MY TRANSACTION


My experiences in the Immigration Office in Setia Tropika (JB) for doing the the Extension of my Visa and my Work endorsement before and after MCO/RMCO was totally different.


Here are what I have encountered:


  1. I proceed to the main gate of Setia Tropika to let my document checked by the Immigration officer on duty at that time after my documents were certified by the Commissioner on Oath.

  2. Presented my appointment letter in print. If your appointment is at 10 AM to 11 AM, you should be at the queuing line for at least 30 minutes before 10 AM. So we were there by 9:30 AM.

  3. Show your documents to the officer on duty. They will check your passport, and also your documents if everything is completed before they allow you to get inside.

  4. Only one person is allowed to enter to avoid congestions inside the area.

  5. If documents okay, then you need to proceed at the lobby to show again your documents. They will check again thoroughly. If you have overstayed, then they will let you sign a a form (overstay form)- since I cannot speak fluently in Bahasa Melayu, I just spoke with them in English and they are okay.

  6. After checking is done, they will let you sit at the designated chair to wait for your number. FYI, the Immigration Officer is controlling the number of applicants heading to level 10.

  7. Once it’s okay to proceed to level 10, you will be given a number for your application. This number must be shown at the main entrance of the immigration office (inside level 10). They will check again your document one more time and they see if you are actually included in the masterlist for that appointment day according to the appointment letter. If your appointment letter is fake, they will let you secure an authentic appointment date. Only one person is allowed to get inside. However, for elderly and those that requires assistance, they allow them to be assisted by another person from the applicants family member.

  8. Wait for your number to be called for you to submit your documents. These are within Counter 1, 2, 3, or 4.

  9. After submitting your files, you will be ask to wait again for your number for the payment.

  10. Wait for your number to be called at counter 10 for the payments. This will take time. The payment for one-year extension is RM90 and for the processing fee is RM36 per year. If you are having two documents at the same time, you will be expected to wait there for about 2-3 hours. The payment method is only debit card or credit card—it is all cashless. However, if you are coming for the first time, you need to pay your security bond in cash—(this is what a fellow applicant told me so she need to get down and get a cash for her security bond).

  11. If you reach lunch break (1 PM), you will be asked to be back by 2 PM to continue your transaction.

  12. Don’t worry, there are a lot of eateries nearby the Immigration office so can just look for any food places there. I would not advise you to get out of Setia Tropika Immigration Area as parking will be hard for you to find once you get back to continue your transaction.

  13. At 2 PM, I need to get back to Immigration office so I have to show again my queue number at the main gate of the building. They are very strict so you must have that number in order for you to be allowed to get inside.

  14. After the main entrance, you need again to go to the lobby where there is another set of officers to assist you. Just show you number so they will allow you to get to level 10 through the lift.

  15. At the main door of the office (at level 10), you need to show again your number and must have temperature check and sanitize your hand before entering the room.

  16. After 37 minutes, my number was called. So I have to get my passport at counter 8 since I already paid my transaction before lunch break.

  17. For my case, I have to let them correct the IC number of my spouse as well as my work position since they did it wrongly. They help to correct it and it was just finished in less than 20 minutes.

  18. After everything is settled, then I can now say that the transaction is completed.

OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED TO KNOW



  1. If you driving to this office, you can only park to those parking area nearby the shop lots. Ensure to put your parking coupons as the summon officer is checking once in a while- I think 3- 4 hours is enough for you to put if you are doing two transaction at the same time. But if your transaction is only for extension of visa- I think 2-3 hours is enough.

  2. Maintain social distancing inside the Immigration Office. The seats are marked with X which means you should not be sitting on it.

  3. Print your online appointment letter to show to the officer--- this is for easy referencing.

  4. You are highly advised not to bring your kids with you as the waiting time is quite long.

  5. You can request to get your form again (like Borang IM12) etc if your visa is only renewed for another year so you don’t need to go back again to Setia Tropika just to get those forms.

  6. By the way, for passport application (for Malaysians), the officer said it must only be done at the Urban Transformation Centre (UTC).

I hope this blog can help you on your journey for your visa application for either Extension or Work Endorsement at JB Immigration Office in Setia Tropika.

240 views2 comments
bottom of page