top of page
Search

Estimated Cost When Traveling To Kuala Lumpur Via Car From Johor Bahru


With the announcement from the Malaysian Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin on the extension of Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) Johor, Kuala Lumpur, Selangor including other states that high cases of new Covid19 daily infection, interstate traveling is not yet allowed.


With this Status, the interstate is only allowed unless you (the travel) have a valid reason to go for interstate travel. For me, I am able to acquire a travel permit from the Police Station as I need to go to my Embassy to settle my passport renewal.



During those times where there is no restriction of traveling, it is very convenient to take a bus to get to Kuala Lumpur, but this time around public transport catering for interstate is not yet allowed hence we need to drive ourselves to get to our embassy.


Speaking of driving, I have listed here an estimated cost of traveling by car via the North-South expressway to get straight to the Philippines embassy in Kuala Lumpur.


Here is how I calculated my cost


1. How much was my fuel consumption?


I took petrol 4 times to ensure that I have sufficient fuel even when there is a heavy jam, especially in Kuala Lumpur area. My total cost is RM96.00 until I reach my Embassy and going back to my hometown in Johor Bahru. It's about 658 Kilometers distance from Johor Bahru with a fuel rate of RM2.05 per litter (Ron95).


The fuel consumption of the car depends on the type of vehicle you are using. So we can say that with these findings, fuel consumption for traveling this distance is about +/- RM90 to RM110 for both going in and going back to Johor Bahru.


2. How much is my Toll Fee?


I spent a total amount of RM71.86 on all the expenses for the toll I used to get to my Embassy and back to Johor Bahru on the same day. I checked my transaction from my service provider Touch and Go so my transaction is all stated there.


3. How much all in all?


The expenses for my Petrol and Toll Fee for this trip is RM167.86. Please take note that food and shopping expenses were not included in this costing.


4. Can we compare the cost to public transport?


If comparing using public transport here is how I calculated:



If you compare these two options, using public transport can save you up to RM58.96 per trip. But when traveling by more than two, driving a car is the cheapest and economical choice for everyone.


Disclaimer:


This documentation was captured on April 1, 2021. Costing was based on actual traveling experience and subject to change according to fare rates by buses, grab, train for a public commuter while fuel rates and car type for self-driving to the said destination.


1,385 views0 comments
bottom of page