top of page
Search

Discovering The Food of Penang Road Famous TeoChew Chendul



Penang Road Famous TeoChew Chendul was established in the heart of Georgetown inside

Penang in the year 1936. It was founded By Mr. Tan Teik Fuang and continued by his 6th son in 1977.

This restaurant (I would say) has been serving authentic delights to Malaysians and local and international guests entering the country with their various branches across Malaysia.

Jom with me as we uncover the food wonders to this restaurant in line with our #jomtareletssupportlocal particularly to their The Mall Mid Valley Southkey outlet.

This restaurant was known for their Teochew Chendul and at present it continues serve fabulous delights to the residents of Johor Bahru and nearby town and cities in Johor including the Singaporeans and other tourist visiting the JB (especially during the time when the boarder was open for daily commuters).

THE FOOD:


We ordered Pandan Nasi Lemak Ayam Bakar, Assam Laksa, Original Chendul, Satay, Popiah and their Rojak.

The food discovery to this restaurant was very interesting. Their Pandan Nasi Lemak was perfectly done. I love the taste of the Pandan flavour in their soft rice. The combination of their crunchy nuts and ikan bilis (anchovies) gave a great taste when mixing with the Pandan Rice. The combination for me was considered something we can recommend to a friend.


The sambal in that set was quite strong (its very spicy) so I just controlled the usage of their sambal while enjoying every bite of their Ayam Bakar (burnt chicken).

Their Assam Laksa was very nice in my palate. The spicy level didn’t disturb the remarkable taste of the dish. The fish used in the set was really good--- its not salty. The other combination in the set such as cucumber, pineapple, tamarind, and red onions was superb when mixing to their Laksa noodle. I would say, it was really appetizing.

I love every scope of the soup mixing of their soft and tender laksa noodle. If you cannot tolerate too much spicy, I would not recommend you to take this.


Their Satay for me was something which I think need to be improved. I found a bit dry in my palate. The meat used was hard. However, I also have to admit that when mixing it to their own version of their peanuts sauce, it give different flavour. Maybe the type of the meat used in the satay should be fatty which makes additional textures into the whole set. The ketupat they used was I think not the correct one- as far as I know, it should be the sticky rice. However, if this is the type of set they have, its still okay but perhaps they can improve on the meat preparation on their satay.

Their Popiah was good. The way it was wrap was fantastic. Its crunchy and it is interesting every time I bite and mixed with their own version of sweet and sour sauce. I would say its nice. My kids love it very much.

Their Rojak was also good in terms of the taste of the sauce. Their ingredients (guava, pineapple, sengkuang) was fresh and crunchy. The spicy level of their rojak sauce was good and perfectly blended in my tastebuds. There was an explosion of “wow” in my tastebuds. I love it. My wife loves it too.


I would say that I was really sweating while enjoying their Assam Laksa and their Rojak. The cooling effect of the Chendul was a good finisher for me. I love every scope until to the extent that I just realized I finished it so fast. The ingredients used inside the Chendul was not too sweet instead, it was all blending and compliments each other. I love it and I would say it’s a recommendable dessert for the entire family.

Overall, I think my food rating to this restaurant is considered high with 9 out of 10 except for their satay. I would not give any rating for their satay as I believe that there is always a room for improvement.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

DISCLAIMER:


Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given was based on honest feedback. The featured restaurant may also have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:


❓Parking area: Follow malls policy

❓Business Hours: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm

❓They do delivery: yes

❓Expected Budget: depends on the order


TO STOP THE SPREAD OF COVID19, PLEASE BE GUIDED WITH THESE FRIENDLY REMINDERS:


👉Maintain social distancing

👉 Avoid crowded places

👉Use face mask in public

👉Wash your hand frequently


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page