top of page
Search

Discovering the food of Old Town White Coffee Malaysia



When it comes to food in Malaysia, I believe that Old Town White Coffee would one of the popular food destinations throughout the country. This food chain has a lot of branches all over the country serving various type local cuisines and western food.


With the coming of year 2021, let me share to you my food discoveries to this restaurant in line with my ongoing #Jomtaraletssupportlocal campaign to support our local products with this ongoing worldwide pandemic.


Oldtown is actually popular on its own Oldtown White Coffee in the country and across Southeast Asia and other parts of the world. This company has obtained its Halal Certification in 2010 and now is one of the popular food destinations in the country.


Jom with me as I uncover the food wonders to this restaurant. Lets find out.



THE FOOD:



With the ongoing CMCO in the country, we ordered our food from their Sentosa outlet in Johor Bahru.


We tried their Mushroom & Chicken Steamed Rice, BBQ Chicken & Fried Wanton Dry Egg Noodles, Oldtown Nasi Lemak, Kaya & Butter Toast (Double), Curry Puff, and French Fries for the kids.


Overall, the food discovery here based on those items that we’ve tried were quite satisfying. The Mushroom and Chicken Steamed rice I think is a recommended one. However, I could be better if the serving maybe increased a bit more to justify its price. In terms of taste, I am not disappointed. Its not salty and I think it was well done.


Their BBQ chicken and Fried Wanton Dry Egg noodle was also good for folks out there who are looking for a light meal. In terms of the texture of the noodle, I cannot give a full comment about it cause the noodle were packed for few minutes, hence making it to be a bit soft compared to when you eat on the spot while dining in at the café.



The Wanton was not that crispy anymore (maybe because of the moisture during the delivery process). With this, I would not suggest to take away these types of noodles specially if the distance of the shop from your housing area may cover more than 15 minutes travelling time.


The Oldtown Nasi lemak for me (I think) could be improved. I may be wrong but I think, this could have been better of the amount of nuts, anchovies (ikan bilis) and sliced egg increased to justify its price. The serving of the rice cooked with coconut was okay—at least it is not dry at all. I took a bit of their sambal too and I think it’s okay too however, I hope it could have been better if the used oil is controlled to make it balanced.



Their Kaya and Butter Toast (Double) was nice. I think it is one of the best I tried before. The way it was toasted was really tasty in my palate. I am sure this could even more fantastic if it was eaten on the spot. The crunchy texture and the unmelted butter will make it more interesting in my palate. The curry puff is also good, the spicy level was controlled and the combination of ingredients inside was superb. I love it.


For their fries, I would say it was okay since my kids loved it too.


Overall, I think my food experience here is considered 8 out of 10. Maybe the experience could had been better if I took their food right after they served in a dine in setting. I understand that this is under franchise, so I cannot blame them (this branch) as to why their pricing was such.



☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


DISCLAIMER:

Reviewed food was based on the date the food was ordered. Reviews given was based on honest feedback. The featured restaurant may also have better menus which may even better according to your preferences.


☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️


OTHER DETAILS YOU MAY NEED:


❓Parking area: Follow Plaza Sentosa

❓Business Hours: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm

❓They do delivery: yes

❓Expected Budget: depends on the order



TO STOP THE SPREAD OF COVID19, PLEASE BE GUIDED WITH THESE FRIENDLY REMINDERS:


👉Maintain social distancing

👉 Avoid crowded places

👉Use face mask in public

👉Wash your hand frequently


20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page